29
Dec
09

Clearsynth

I’ve chosen some freeware synths to demonstrate some of the techniques that I’ve learnt. The first of them is Clearsynth.

Boy, I love this synth! I wish I had this one with me when I started learning the ropes. True to it’s name, the controls and the alignment are very clear to understand. The “almost-monochrome” look helps too, minimising any distractions. Also, since this synth was designed as a learning aid, there are presets that take you through the fundamentals step by step. This is a highly recommended download if you plan to follow along this blog and learn the basics.

I intend to cover the basics of subtractive synthesis techniques using Clearsynth. I’ll move on to other freeware synths when I talk about more advanced topics.

Note: Though the synth is freeware, the developer accepts donations. Please donate if you found this synth helpful.

10 Responses to “Clearsynth”


  1. 1 djjhin
    January 9, 2010 at 1:59 am

    hey, i love this website, honestly i have been waiting for a lesson EXACTLY like this. However, i am a mac user and is there anyway you could put a mac version of clearsynth on here? thank you so much

    • 2 koushks
      January 19, 2010 at 4:33 am

      Hello djjhin. Sorry I took a while to respond. Having always used a PC, I’m completely ignorant of the Mac side of things.I’ve asked the question in a couple of forums, and I hope I get some pointers on an equivalent freeware synth for Mac. I’ll let you know if I have any luck with it.

  2. 3 joe
    January 13, 2010 at 1:52 am

    Hey how come Clearsynth doesnt work for me? I have Ableton 8 and when I start it says It cant find these modules like “Auto_Active_Switch_Control_CK2005” and so on.

    I’ve installed other VSTs fine, but not this one….Hmmmm

    • 4 koushks
      January 14, 2010 at 4:09 am

      Not sure why. I know someone who uses it in Live 8. Maybe you can try reaching out to the developer.
      Or else, use any other similar synth. Synth1 and Tal-Elek7ro are good freeware examples. All of the controls I explain here are there in those synths as well. But since they offer some more additional features, you might have to read the manual to figure out how to turn them off, or get them out of the way, for now. Let me know if you have trouble doing that, and I’ll try to help.

  3. 5 Poppa!
    January 13, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Just FYI, Clearsynth is 100% free now AFAIK. πŸ˜‰

  4. 6 Ted
    January 18, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    That link to Clearsynth does not work. 😦

  5. April 30, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    This is a great blog! And what an awesome synth you have just turned me on to. So simple and elegant. I appreciate all the info you’re putting up here. Keep up the great work!

    -Ryan

  6. 9 Crystal
    December 28, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Can’t do much but donated 5 bucks…your site is getting bigger too you should add a donate button, people like me really appreciate people like you, thanks!

  7. 10 Andre
    January 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    This vst is awesome lol


Leave a Reply

Enter your email to subscribe and receive email notifications when new tutorials are available.

Join 84 other followers

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 81,040 hits

